Daft Punk at Marley Park

September 9, 2006

Daft Punk

I went to the Daft Punk gig in Marley Park on August 25th. I wasn’t too impressed with the act to be honest. Don’t get me wrong, the lighting was fantastic and the music itself was an impressive remix of all the Daft Punk classics. But it just didn’t do it for me. Two lads up on stage dressed in spaceman suits and wearing clunky helmets wears a little thin after some time. It seems to me that they could have just pressed play and jumped around a bit. Conspiracy theories abound that it may not even have been the Daft Punk duo of Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo on stage. The occasional downpour put a dampener on the night too I suppose.

Daft Punk

For a more positive review, see the Sigla Blog which also has quite an interesting discussion in the comments section. You can download the gig at Coachella which sounds pretty much how the gig at Marley Park did.
Daft Punk

Some more photos…

Daft Punk

Daft Punk

Daft Punk

Daft Punk

Daft Punk

Daft Punk

Daft Punk

Daft Punk

9 Responses to “Daft Punk at Marley Park”


  1. […] I like this: Daft Punk at Marley Park because I wanted to go, heard that they were brill in Scotland, but Donal didn’t think much of their gig in Dublin. Nice shots of their light show though! Tags:airport Candid children Long Exposure People San Francisco SFO Sigma 10 20 United States […]


  2. You got some cool photos even if the concert wasn’t that great!

  3. Jimbo Says:

    Daft Punk rocked in Marley park. I would now travel to anywhere to see them live again. I was the best gig of 2006 music wise. Sure Electric picnic was up there too but Daft Punk rule…. Jimbo….

  4. Rory Says:

    Without doubt the best gig of the year.
    Donal – What planet are you living on? Were you even there. They rocked !

  5. donal Says:

    Thanks for the comments.

    Rory, I sent my camera there without me and it took the photos. Quite a nifty trick actually. But seriously, just didn’t do it for me even though I’ve been listening to their gig at Coachella which is excellent. Sometimes music doesn’t transfer to a live venue for me. Each to their own.


  6. Oooh, narky and everything…

  7. lawrence Says:

    Hey, were can i download the gig at? it was immense

  8. Martine Says:

    Saw Daft Punk at Red Rocks in Colorado last night. I hadn’t seen them before and thought it was a great show. Same stage set as the show you went to, so it’s nice to see such great photos of what could have been last night. Thank goodness for tech savy people such as yourself who can share their photos and video footage with the world. Thank you! :)


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

